Guide

What does a book coach cost, and what do you get?

Book coaches charge per session, by the month, as a package, or per project, and prices vary widely with experience, specialty and how much of your writing they read. The most useful published figures come from the Editorial Freelancers Association's member survey, which puts the median hourly range for coaching at $75 to $100. What matters more than the rate is what each payment buys you.

Per session

Pay as you go

One price per call, sometimes with a small amount of reading included. Good for: a specific problem, a second opinion on an outline, occasional check-ins. Watch for: reading your pages may be billed separately by the hour, and the total is easy to lose track of.

Monthly

A retainer

A fixed monthly fee for a set number of calls, a page allowance, and contact between sessions. Good for: drafting, where you need steady feedback for months. Watch for: paying through months when you write nothing. Ask about pausing.

Package

A defined outcome

One price for a set goal, such as a book plan with table of contents and chapter outline, over a fixed number of sessions. Good for: the start of a book. Watch for: vague deliverables. The package should name exactly what you will have at the end.

Per project

The whole draft

One price, often paid in installments, to coach you from idea to finished draft, sometimes with editing or publishing bundled. Good for: people who want one commitment and one team. Watch for: what happens to the money if you stop partway.

Published survey rates

There is no official price list for book coaching, and most coaches set their own. The best public data we found is the Editorial Freelancers Association's 2026 rate chart, based on a survey of its members run from November 2025 to mid-January 2026, with more than 1,100 respondents reporting what they charged in 2025. The EFA is a US professional association of editors and writers. Its "coaching" category covers editorial coaching broadly, not only book coaching, so treat these as a reference point, not a quote.

Service (EFA 2026 rate chart)Median rate rangePer project
Coaching$75 to $100 per hourMean $1,980.28, median $1,000
Developmental editing, nonfiction4.0 to 5.0 cents per word, or $57.50 to $70 per hourNot reported
Ghostwriting, full-length nonfiction33 to 50 cents per word, or $85 to $100 per hourNot reported

Source: Editorial Freelancers Association, Editorial Rates, 2026 Rate Chart, fetched October 20, 2026. The EFA notes that individual rates vary considerably and that it neither sets rates nor advises members on them.

Two things stand out. First, the per-project median for coaching ($1,000) is well below the mean ($1,980.28), which tells you a minority of larger projects pull the average up: many coaching projects are small, and some are much bigger. Second, the gap between coaching and ghostwriting is large, because one pays for guidance while you write and the other pays for the writing.

What drives the price

  • How much they read. Reading and commenting on pages takes far more of a coach's time than the calls. An offer that includes reading every chapter will cost more than one that is calls only, and is usually worth more.
  • How often you meet. Weekly costs more than monthly.
  • Experience and track record. Coaches with many finished books, editing backgrounds or publishing-house experience charge more.
  • Specialty. Narrow niches, such as a particular industry or a proposal for traditional publishers, can command higher rates.
  • Turnaround. Fast feedback costs more. The EFA lists turnaround time among the factors that change members' rates.
  • One-to-one or group. Group coaching costs less per person and gives you less individual attention.
  • What is bundled. A program that includes editing, design and publishing is not comparable with a coaching-only offer, even though both may be called coaching.

How to compare offers

Turn every offer into the same few numbers before you compare:

  • Total cost for the whole engagement, not just the first month.
  • Number of sessions, and length of each.
  • Number of pages (or words) the coach will read and comment on.
  • Turnaround on written feedback.
  • Contact between sessions: included or not.
  • What you will have at the end, in writing.
  • What is extra: editing, proposal review, publishing help.
  • What you get back if you stop early.

Then divide the total by the number of sessions and by the pages read. Two offers at the same monthly price can be very different value once you know one reads 40 pages a month and the other reads none.

Building a realistic budget

An illustration, using the EFA survey's hourly range rather than any particular coach's price. Suppose you want one hour-long call a month and two hours of the coach's time reading your pages each month. That is three billable hours a month. At $75 to $100 an hour, that would be about $225 to $300 a month. Weekly calls with more reading would be several times that. Run the same arithmetic with real quotes once you have them.

Then add what comes after coaching. Coaching usually ends with a draft, not a published book. Budget separately for a developmental edit or manuscript evaluation, copyediting and proofreading, and whatever publishing route you choose. For a full draft, the EFA's per-word developmental editing rate multiplied by your word count gives you a rough starting figure for that part.

Scribe's coaching prices

Scribe Media, which makes this site, publishes its prices. Two of its services are coaching:

Scribe Compass Define the book and outline it, with a Scribe book coach $5,000 One price. Five coaching calls over about 4 to 6 weeks. Ends with your book's North Star (reader and purpose), a table of contents and a chapter-by-chapter roadmap. The full cost is applied toward Scribe Professional or Elite if you continue.
Scribe Guided Author You write the book with a coach; Scribe edits and publishes it $2,933 a month For 15 months, $44,000 total Includes a book coach and publishing manager, writing course and author community, coaching and revision sessions, a structural edit, copyediting, proofreading, design and publishing.

Being fair: Guided Author is not comparable with a coaching-only offer, because most of what it includes is editing and publishing. If you only need someone to help you shape the book and keep writing, an independent coach will usually cost less, and many authors are well served that way. Compass is closer to a standard outline package, and you keep the plan whether or not you continue with Scribe. Full details are on the Compass page, the Guided Author page and scribemedia.com/pricing.

Before you spend anything, check that coaching is the right kind of help. The coach, editor or ghostwriter tool asks about your budget alongside your manuscript and time, and will tell you if writing on your own is the better answer.

Common questions

Is book coaching cheaper than a ghostwriter?

Almost always, because you are paying for guidance rather than for someone to write the whole book. You pay instead with your own writing time. In the Editorial Freelancers Association's 2026 rate chart, the median hourly range for coaching is $75 to $100, while full-length nonfiction ghostwriting is quoted at 33 to 50 cents a word.

Is it better to pay per session or monthly?

Per session suits short, specific needs and lets you stop any time. Monthly suits ongoing drafting because it usually includes reading your pages and contact between calls. Packages suit a defined goal, like an outline. Choose the model that matches the job, then compare what is included.

Why do coaching prices vary so much?

Experience, specialty, how much of your writing the coach reads, how often you meet, and whether editing or publishing is bundled in. The Editorial Freelancers Association notes that its members' rates vary considerably with type of work, expertise, turnaround, training and years of experience.

Does Scribe offer coaching?

Yes. Scribe Compass is a short coaching engagement to define your book and outline it. Guided Author is a longer program where a coach guides you as you write, with editing and publishing included. Prices are in the Scribe section of this page.

Sources: Editorial Freelancers Association, Editorial Rates and 2026 Rate Chart; Scribe prices from scribemedia.com/pricing, scribemedia.com/service/scribe-compass and scribemedia.com/service/guided-author. All fetched October 20, 2026. Published by Scribe Media.